WHEAT-FREE DIET

ARE WHEAT-FREE AND GLUTEN-FREE DIETS THE SAME THING?

They are very different. If a product is labeled gluten free it will also be wheat free. However, a product labeled wheat free is not necessarily free of gluten.

Gluten Free: The food item does NOT contain wheat, rye, barley or other grains that contain the protein gluten. See the Gluten-Free page for details. 


Wheat Free: Food item does NOT contain wheat or white flour.

FOOD LABEL

Wheat is one of the eight most prevalent allergens. It is required to be declared either in the ingredient listing or in the contains statement on packaging.

WHY WOULD SOMEONE FOLLOW A WHEAT-FREE DIET?

People could have an allergy or food sensitivity to wheat. See Food Sensitivities for more information.

Some people choose to eliminate wheat for weight loss. If this is something you might be considering, please seek out the help of a dietitian to guide you through this process. Eliminating wheat from the diet can make you deficient in certain nutrients.

To Replenish Potential Losses Add These Foods:

FIBER: Beans, fruit, vegetables and nuts

FOLIC ACID: Leafy green vegetables, asparagus, broccoli, cauliflower, beets, and lentils

IRON: Meats, leafy green vegetables, fish, and shellfish